Quiet Sunday Reading

The Riders of the Purple Sage and a diet Coke

The Riders of the Purple Sage and a diet Coke

“Lassiter, will you be my rider?”
“I reckon so.”

Oh the chills! Oh the emotion! Today I’m enjoying a classic from my younger years. I read Riders of the Purple Sage by Zane Grey in middle school. I loved westerns and all historical fiction back then and I had no idea when I picked up this book in the new books bin at my school library that I would find more than just a cowboy story. This is the fourth time I’ve re-read this and I learn something new every time.

– The term “cowboy” is never used. This is something I just noticed during this re-read.
– A major plot point centers around a religious group. I didn’t even remember this from the first time I read it! This is a lesson to remember. Children pick up what they need to from books, but not everything they don’t.
– I remember having a crush on Lassiter, the gun-weilding, black-leather-wearing, ex-Texas Ranger. Now I want to be Jane Withersteen. She’s the smart, independent business woman who doesn’t back down from hard truths.
– Mr. Grey had a poetic turn of phrase in his writing. The descriptions of the red arches of Utah, the canyons, and the sage wasteland are divine.

What’s on tap for your Sunday reading?

Leave a Reply

