Quiet Sunday Reading

20140302_112045

Boneshaker by Cherie Priest was one of my favorite books a couple of years ago. I thought the story was well imagined and clever. I originally thought it was a young adult book, but after reading it I realized I connected with the 30-something mother who chases after her young son years after a mad scientist’s invention, an earth moving machine known as the Boneshaker, destroys Civil War era Seattle. Her son goes in search of answers in the now abandoned city. Boneshaker was the first book in what is known as the Clockwork Century series and it’s a stand-out in the Steampunk genre.

Now I’m enjoying the fifth book in the series, Fiddlehead, which features a fantastic calculating machine, a genius inventor, a former spy, and Abraham Lincoln– after his assassination. He’s alive and wheel-chair bound, but still committed to a perfect union of states. It’s proving to be an enjoyable plot point and I can’t wait to sit in my cozy reading chair and finish the adventure.

What’s your quiet Sunday reading?



Leave a comment